Voting in Pabna-4 by-election begins amid pandemic

Staff Correspondent
26 September 2020, Sat
Published: 10:55

Voting in Pabna-4 by-election begins amid pandemic

Voting in Pabna-4 by-polls (Ishwardi-Atghoria) began today morning amid public health concerns over coronavirus.

The voting began at 9:00 am and will continue till 5:00 pm without any break.

The Pabna-4 parliamentary seat fell vacant due to the death of Awami League lawmaker Shamsur Rahman Sherif on April 2.

According to EC sources, the Pabna-4 constituency consists of two Upazilas (Ishwardi and Atgharia), two municipalities and 12 unions.

There are 84 polling stations in the constituency and the total number of voters is 3 lakh 81 thousand 112.

Of these, 1 lakh 91 thousand 697 are male voters and 1 lakh 89 thousand 415 are female voters.

The Awami League has nominated Md Nuruzzaman Biswas while BNP Habibur Rahman Habib and Jatiya Party nominated Rezaul Karim for the by-polls.