Voting in Dhaka 5, Naogaon 6 by-polls underway

Staff Correspondent
17 October 2020, Sat
Published: 12:42

Voting in Dhaka 5, Naogaon 6 by-polls underway

Voting in the by-elections to two parliamentary constituencies - Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 are underway.

The polling began at 9:00 am Saturday and will continue till 5:00 pm through using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) following all Covid -19 health protocols. The Election Commission (EC) took all-out preparation to hold the by-polls.

In Dhaka-5 constituency, Awami League candidate Kazi Monirul Islam, BNP candidate Salahuddin Ahmed, Jatiya Party's Mir Abdus Sabur, National People's Party's Arifur Rahman, Bangladesh Congress candidate Ansar Rahman Sikder and Gono Front candidate HM Ibrahim Bhuiyan are contesting.

The constituency includes ward No 48, 49, 50, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69 and 70 of the Demra and Matijhil area of Dhaka South City Corporation. 

The by-poll will be held in 187 centers for 471,129 voters. The seat fell vacant after the death of lawmaker Habibur Rahman Molla.

In Naogaon-6 constituency, a total of 3,06,725 voters are expected to vote under 104 polling stations comprised of Raninagar and Atrai Upazila.

The candidates for Naogaon- 6 by-poll are Sheikh Md Rezaul Islam of the Awami League, Md Anwar Hossain Helal of BNP and Khandaker Intekhab Alam of NPP.

The seat became vacant following the death of lawmaker Israfil Alam.