Eleven aspirants collect nominations for Rangpur 3 by-poll

Staff Correspondent

9 September 2019, Mon
Published: 02:41

Eleven aspirants collect nominations for Rangpur 3 by-poll

A total of eleven aspirant candidates collected nominations papers till Sunday to vie in the Rangpur-3 by-election slated for October 5 next.

Rangpur Regional Election Officer and Returning Officer for by polls in Rangpur-3 constituency GM Sahatab Uddin told Breakingnews.com.bd that eleven intending candidates already collected nomination papers till Sunday.

The Rangpur-3 (Sadar) seat that fell vacant after the death of Jatiya Party Chairman Hussein Muhammad Ershad on July 14 last.

The candidates are Awami League nominated candidate Advocate Rezaul Karim Razu, AL leader Abdul Mazid, Jatiya Party (JaPa) nominated candidate Rahgir Al Mahi alias Saad Ershad, JaPa leaders SM Fakhr-uz-Zaman Jahangir and SM Yasser, BNP-nominated candidate and Bangladesh People’s Party leader Rita Rahman and BNP leader Kawser Zaman Babla.

Besides, Independent candidate and former JaPa lawmaker Hossain Asif Shahriar, Md. Shafiul Alam of National People’s Party, Tauhidur Rahman Mandal Raju of Khelafat Majlish and Muhammad Shahidullah of Gano Front collected nomination papers.

The deadline for submission of nomination papers is September 9.