Bangladesh revamp T20I squad

Sports Desk
16 September 2019, Mon
Published: 01:08 Updated: 03:01

Bangladesh revamp T20I squad

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 15-member squad for next match of the Tri-nation T20 tournament, including bringing back experienced bowler Rubel Hossain and Shafiul Islam, for their third and fourth matches of the ongoing T20I tri-series at home, where Zimbabwe is the third team. 

Soumya Sarkar, also going out were off-spinner Mahedi Hasan, and pacemen Abu Hider and Yeasin Arafat, none of whom played any of the two matches - a win over Zimbabwe and the loss to Afghanistan.

Apart from Rubel and Shafiul, Bangladesh has drafted in Najmul Hossain, the off-spinner, teenaged leg-spinning-all rounder Aminul Islam, and exciting young opening batsman Mohammad Naim.

Najmul, 21, has played two Test matches and three ODIs since making his international debut in January 2017 and was recently among the runs in both the one-dayers and the four-dayers on the Bangladesh Emerging Team's tour of Sri Lanka.

Squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mohammad Naim Shaikh, Aminul Islam, Najmul Hossain 

Squad changes
IN: Najmul Hossain, Aminul Islam, Mohammad Naim, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam

OUT: Soumya Sarkar, Mahedi Hasan, Abu Hider, Yeasin Arafat.