Cricket World Cup finals today, who are the new winners?

Sports Desk
14 July 2019, Sun
Published: 10:08 Updated: 11:51

Cricket World Cup  finals today, who are the new winners?

History is set to be made at the Home of Cricket on Sunday. Wimbledon men's singles final AND the British Grand Prix. All in London.

New champions will be coronated at the hallowed turf of Lord’s, irrespective of the result in the ICC World Cup final between England and New Zealand.

The hosts will be aiming to win their first title after having failed in their three previous attempts in 1979, 1987 and 1992. New Zealand, who will be playing their second consecutive finals, have all the qualities to become party poppers.

While England were touted as favorites even before the tournament got underway, the Kiwis had to wait till the Pakistan-Bangladesh match to all but confirm their place in the semi-finals.

showcase for the game of cricket," said Vettori.

"They both have the skill and the initiative to think on their feet and we've seen them at their bests in the past couple of games."

The 40-year-old said England's Eoin Morgan and Kane Williamson of New Zealand have probably been the best captains in this World Cup and it's fitting to see them face each other in the final.

"There's a real enjoyment about being in a final, just being there means you've had a really good competition and so you have a chance to celebrate that," Vettori said.

"It's a nice way to go into the game, and the way Eoin Morgan and Kane Williamson are approaching it, you can tell they're confident while being respectful about their opposition and how well they can play. It's a chance to watch too really great leaders.

"Both teams will be confident and rightly so, they've both shown they can fight their way through difficulty so hopefully it's all set up for a really fantastic match at Lord's," he added.

Six members of New Zealand's squad have played in a World Cup final before and Vettori said it would be vital for the team's chances.

"Williamson, Taylor and Martin Guptill were there in 2015, so to have three of the top four batters knowing what it's like is really key, particularly with the experience they possess.