Tamim Iqbal to lead Tigers in Sri Lanka tour

Staff Correspondent
20 July 2019, Sat
Published: 09:55 Updated: 10:19

Tamim Iqbal to lead Tigers in Sri Lanka tour

Tamim Iqbal will lead the Tigers in 3 match ODI series against Sri Lanka. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) appointed him as the captain for the tour after Mashrafe Bin Mortaza was ruled out due to hamstring injury.

Tamim Iqbal has replaced injured Mashrafe Bin Mortaza as captain of Bangladesh for the One-Day International series in Sri Lanka. BCB announce inclusion of pacer Taskin Ahmed as well as all-rounder Farhad Reza in the squad on Friday.

Tamim Iqbal led the team in a Test match against New Zealand in 2017 when the then Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim was out for injury.

Debuted in 2007, left-hander Tamim had also worked as vice-captain twice. He led different teams in domestic cricket.

Bangladesh players are leaving for Sri Lanka on Saturday to play 3 ODIs on July 26, 28 and 31 after a tune-up match on July 23.

Bangladesh earlier recalled spinner Taijul Islam and batsman Anamul Haque for the series.

Bangladesh Squad- Tamim Iqbal( c), Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Farhad Reza, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Anamul Haque and Taskin Ahmed.