Shafiul moves Thisara Perera, Sri Lanka 278/6

News Desk
26 July 2019, Fri
Published: 06:43 Updated: 08:13

Shafiul moves Thisara Perera, Sri Lanka 278/6

Sri Lanka have managed to score 272 runs after 45.03 overs losing five wickets against Bangladesh in the first match of three-match series at Colombo on Friday (July 26).

Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera were on crease, scoring 42 off 9 balls and 37 runs off 0 balls respectively.

Earlier, Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne won the toss and opted to bat first against the visitors.
Bangladesh are yet to win any bilateral ODI series in Sri Lanka though they settled for draw in the last two editions.

Tigers are taking confidence as they crushed Sri Lanka by 137 runs in the last match they played against them in Asia Cup in 2018 while they have won some T20 matches at Lankan soil also, making them absolute favourites against Sri Lanka in recent time.

But the overall stat is still in Lankan’s favour. Out of the 45 ODIs played between the two sides, Bangladesh won just 7, while Sri Lanka grabbed victory in 36. The other two matches were washed out.

If the last five encounters between the two sides are taken into consideration, it is not one sided as Bangladesh won two while losing three.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal (capt), 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Mohammad Mithun, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Mosaddek Hossain, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Rubel Hossain, 10 Shafiul Islam, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka: 1 Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), 2 Kusal Perera, 3 Avishka Fernando, 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Angelo Mathews, 6 Lahiru Thirimanne, 7 Dhananjaya de Silva, 8 Thisara Perera, 9 Nuwan Pradeep, 10 Lahiru Kumara, 11 Lasith Malinga